Don’t Waste Your Life on Your iPhone

John Piper is one of my favorite pastors and authors, but one who’s known for not trying to be particularly polite. He wrote a book called Don’t Waste Your Life, talking about God’s purpose for your life, and how so many things can distract us from it. One of the examples he frequently cites is computers and technology.

Today, on Piper’s blog RSS feed, I saw the following headline:

Don’t Waste Your Life on Your iPhone

Immediately I got convicted. Is my latest technology interest really keeping me from God’s purpose for my life? Am I wasting my life on Steve Jobs’ latest gadget?

Then I read the post:

The full text of Don’t Waste Your Life is now available online for free in a format optimized for the iPhone.

Oh. Right. I guess Piper wasn’t calling me out after all. Maybe it was just the Holy Spirit.

5 Responses to Don’t Waste Your Life on Your iPhone

  1. I thought the same thing

  2. Ted Ladue says:

    or maybe your path is to be the master of the iPhone. I’m sure your God, if he is honest and just, wouldn’t want you mucking around with anything on the Verizon network. 😉

  3. Josh Justice says:

    “The circuit is now complete – When I left you, I was but the learner. Now, I am the master.” Or something. =]

  4. Danny Pacetti says:

    Seeing as the Google Phone is now here, I find this post helplessly dated, irrelevant and out of touch. iPhone was sooo 2007.
    So I guess I don’t have to feel any conviction.

  5. Stacee says:

    Haha, this made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

